2016 Golden Spikes Semifinalists Announced. Voting begins today.


June 30th, 2016

Dedeaux Foundation Award Dinner

Youth Clinic and MLB PlayBall Event




Twelve NCAA Division I athletic conferences are represented on the list of semifinalists








DURHAM, N.C. - USA Baseball unveiled on Wednesday the 25 semifinalists for the 2016 USA Baseball Golden Spikes Award sponsored by Major League Baseball and presented in partnership with the Rod Dedeaux Foundation. 2016 marks the 39th consecutive year the Golden Spikes Award has been awarded to the top amateur baseball player in the United States.


GoldenSpikesAward.com - powered by MLBAM - is once again the online home of the award.  The website features content devoted exclusively to the Golden Spikes Award, including news, voting history, past winner photo galleries, and photographs and biographical information for the 2016 semifinalists.  Fans can follow online at GoldenSpikesAward.com as the list of 25 players is narrowed to a group of finalists on Wednesday, June 13.


The Southeastern Conference leads 12 different conferences represented on the list with seven semifinalists, followed closely by the Atlantic Coast Conference with six.  The Pac-12 and Southern conferences both host a pair of semifinalists while the Big 12, Big East, Colonial Athletic, Conference USA, Mid-American, Missouri Valley, Southland and West Coast conferences each have one athlete on the list.


Louisville sophomore Brendan McKay is a semifinalist for the second straight year and is one of two Cardinals named semifinalists in 2016. Vanderbilt was the only other school to place more than one athlete on the list. In total, 23 different NCAA institutions are represented.


The list includes several NCAA Division I statistical leaders including Southeastern Louisiana's Jameson Fisher, who leads the nation in batting average and on-base percentage.  UNC Wilmington's Nick Feight leads the country in RBIs and total bases, while Kent State's Eric Lauer, Pepperdine's A.J. Puckett and Washington's Troy Rallings possess three of the nation's top four ERAs.


USA Baseball officials will announce the finalists for the 2016 Golden Spikes Award on Monday, June 13.  To select the finalists, the list of semifinalists is sent to a voting body consisting of past Golden Spikes Award winners, past USA Baseball National Team coaches and press officers, members of the media that closely follow the amateur game, select professional baseball personnel, and select current USA Baseball staff, representing a group of more than 200 voters in total.


Fan voting will once again be part of the Golden Spikes Award in 2016.  This announcement officially marks the opening of voting for amateur baseball fans from across the country on GoldenSpikesAward.com. As part of the selection process, all voters will be asked to choose three players from the list of names.  Voting will be open until Wednesday, June 8.


The live presentation of the 2016 Golden Spikes Award will be announced exclusively on ESPN's flagship program, SportsCenter, on Thursday, June 30th. The announcement will take place in ESPN's Los Angeles Production Center at L.A. Live.


The finalists and their families will be also honored at the Rod Dedeaux Foundation Dinner that evening at the Jonathan Club Los Angeles.


Last year, University of Arkansas' Andrew Benintendi took home the prestigious award, joining a group of recent winners that includes A.J. Reed (2014), Kris Bryant (2013), Mike Zunino (2012), Trevor Bauer (2011), Bryce Harper (2010), Stephen Strasburg (2009) and Buster Posey (2008).


The remaining timeline for the 2016 Golden Spikes Award announcement is:

             Wednesday, June 1: 2016 USA Baseball Golden Spikes Award semifinalists named - voting opens

            Wednesday, June 8: Semifinalist voting closes

            Monday, June 13: 2016 USA Baseball Golden Spikes Award finalists named - voting opens

            Friday, June 24: Finalist voting closes

            Thursday, June 30: 2016 USA Baseball Golden Spikes Award trophy presentation


The complete 2016 Golden Spikes Award semifinalist list is as follows:


Name, Position, Class, School

Seth Beer, OF, Fr., Clemson

Jake Burger, 3B, So., Missouri State

C.J. Chatham, SS, Jr., Florida Atlantic

Zack Collins, C, Jr., Miami

Will Craig, 1B, Jr., Wake Forest

Brett Cumberland, C, So., California

Nick Feight, C, So., UNC-Wilmington

Jameson Fisher, C/IF, R-Jr., Southeastern Louisiana

Anfernee Grier, OF, Jr., Auburn

Thomas Hackimer, P, Sr., St. John's

Dakota Hudson, P, Jr., Mississippi State

Connor Jones, P, Jr., Virginia

Eric Lauer, P, Jr., Kent State

Kyle Lewis, OF, Jr., Mercer

Brendan McKay, IF/P, So., Louisville

Sheldon Neuse, 3B, Jr., Oklahoma

AJ Puckett, P, Jr., Pepperdine

Heath Quinn, OF, Jr., Samford

Troy Rallings, P, Sr., Washington

Corey Ray, OF, Jr., Louisville

Nick Senzel, 3B, Jr., Tennessee

Jordan Sheffield, P, R-So., Vanderbilt

Logan Shore, P, Jr., Florida

Boomer White, IF, Jr., Texas A&M

Kyle Wright, P, So., Vanderbilt



About Golden Spikes Award

Since 1978, USA Baseball has honored the top amateur baseball player in the country with the Golden Spikes Award. Following the first-ever presentation of the Award to Bob Horner of Arizona State, the Golden Spikes Award has been presented each year to the player who exhibits exceptional athletic ability and exemplary sportsmanship. The 2015 Golden Spikes Award winner was Andrew Benintendi of the University of Arkansas.  Past winners of this prestigious award include current Major League Baseball players such as Kris Bryant ('13), Mike Zunino ('12), Trevor Bauer ('11), Bryce Harper ('10), Stephen Strasburg ('09), Buster Posey ('08), David Price ('07), Tim Lincecum ('06), Alex Gordon ('05), Jered Weaver ('04), Rickie Weeks ('03) and Mark Kotsay ('95). Former Major League stars that have captured the award include Pat Burrell ('98), Robin Ventura ('88), Jim Abbott ('87), Will Clark ('85), Dave Magadan ('83), Terry Francona ('80), Tim Wallach ('79), and Horner ('78).  For more information, please visit GoldenSpikesAward.com.  Fans can follow the Golden Spikes Award on Twitter @USAGoldenSpikes.


About USA Baseball

USA Baseball is the national governing body for the sport of baseball in the United States and is a member of the United States Olympic Committee and the World Baseball Softball Confederation.  The organization selects and trains the World Baseball Classic, Premier12 and Pan Am teams (and all other USA Baseball Professional Teams); the USA Baseball Collegiate National Team; the USA Baseball 18U, 15U and 12U National Teams; and the USA Baseball Women's National Team, all of which participate in various international competitions each year.  The organization is responsible for the continued proliferation and health of the sport, and leads a number of amateur initiatives including PLAYBALL and Pitch Smart.  USA Baseball also presents the Golden Spikes Award annually to the top amateur baseball player in the country.  For more information, please visit the organization's official websites: USABaseball.com, PLAYBALL.org, PitchSmart.org, GoldenSpikesAward.com and USABaseballShop.com.


About The Rod Dedeaux Foundation

The Rod Dedeaux Foundation was founded to support at-risk youth in urban communities through baseball and softball programs in honor of legendary collegiate and Olympic coach Rod Dedeaux. Together with our partners we help support over 20,000 inner-city youths per year with valuable programs, field renovations and college scholarships.  Each year, the Foundation hosts the USA Baseball Golden Spikes Award & Rod Dedeaux Coach of the Year Award in Downtown Los Angeles.



Marc DedeauxComment